Kungliga Tekniska Hoegskolan – KTH

Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (KTH) is Sweden’s largest technical university and accounts for over one third of the national capacity for engineering studies and technical research at post-secondary level. KTH has over 12000 undergraduate students, 1400 active postgraduate students and a staff of 3100.

Throughout the years, energy research and education at KTH has held a leading position both in Sweden and abroad. Today, KTH’s commitment in this field is reflected in sheer numbers: over a third of all departments report energy-related activities with an annual accumulated turnover of about €20 million (both external and internal funding sources included). A hallmark of KTH’s efforts is a high degree of collaboration with actors on Swedish, European, and international levels. On-campus energy research and education is conducted in groups located at five departments, encompassing over 150 professors, senior researchers, and Ph.D. students. Over 200 students per year follow MSc programs in Sustainable Energy Engineering and Turbomachinery, including three Erasmus Mundus programs (ME3, SELECT and THRUST). The department of Energy technology at KTH is partnering in the present project. The department consists of 4 divisions where the division of Heat and Power will collaborate with the division of applied thermodynamics and refrigeration to realize the project objectives. The department of Energy Technology is led by 6 professors and about 20 senior staff members and is engaged in numerous national and international research and development projects educating around 25 graduate students towards their PhD. The research focus is on polygeneration energy systems and their components with special focus on turbomachinery, energy storage, heat pumps, gasification and combustion. Significant effort is also put in energy system and component modelling with in-house techno-economic tools such as OSeMOSYS, DYESOPT and EDGESIM.

Role in the project

KTH is responsible for WP3 as work package leader. As such, its role in the project consists of the following activities:

  • development, validation and demonstration of thermal storage materials and most suitable applications in the project, in order to study their optimal integration in the PHCC layout
  • development of thermo-economic analysis of the PHCC layout modelling and studying of all power plant components
  • preliminary assessment of the technical and economic benefits of the PUMP-HEAT solutions (preliminary business models) that will be provided by the thermo-economic analysis and optimization
  • development of control algorithms of the heat pump technology through the use of the key performance indicators for optimization


Mr. Björn Laumert - Associate Professor: he is since August 2010 the leader of the CSP and turbine performance group at the Division of Heat and Power Technology at KTH. The groups consist of 8 PhD students, 2 senior researchers, 1 Associate Prof. Emeritus and a number of MSc students. He has 10 years of industrial experience in turbomachinery R&D in project leading positions.

Mrs. Viktoria Martin - Professor: she has been conducting thermal energy storage related research since late 90’s, such as fundamental properties of PCM materials, transportation of thermal energy utilizing advanced thermal energy storage technology. She was the operating agent for IEA, Energy Conservation through Energy Storage, Annex18.

Mr. Justin Chiu, PhD: he obtained his PhD degree in the field of thermal energy storage. He has been involved since in prototype design and testing projects at KTH. His expertise lies in material characterization, heat transfer studies, and system integration. He is active in IEA, Energy Conservation through Energy Storage.

Mr. Rafael Guedez, PhD: he is a researcher at the department of Energy Technology and responsible for the DYESOPT development at the department. His core research has been focused on the deployment of large scale thermal storage for thermal power plants.

This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020
research and innovation programme under agreement No 764706